Sage 100 ERP – User Maintenance Tips & Tricks

The User Maintenance task on the Library Master / Main menu is the Sage 100 ERP utility used to create and maintain all users who log into the program. Security is maintained using Role Maintenance, and users security is defined by the Role assigned to each user. But, did you know that a single user can have multiple roles, and even different roles in difference company codes?

UserMaint_01

As shown above, a user can operate with different permissions in different company codes, or with multiple permissions in the same company code, as shown with the ABC company above. When multiple Roles are assigned, if tasks have conflicting permissions (for instance, one role allows Full permissions to Customer Maintenance while another allows only View Only rights), the more permissible Role always takes precedence. Roles can also be assigned with Start and End Date limits, to allow for temporary assignments, such as covering for a vacationing user.

And did you know that each Sage 100 ERP user can have a number of options set to his or her personal preferences? These options can help to improve functionality and usability. These options can be set on the Preferences tab:

UserMaint_02

Here is a brief explanation of how each option affects the user:

  • Automatic Logoff : Ensures that a user will be logged out of Sage 100 ERP at the end of a pre-defined delay (in minutes) which is defined in the Automatic Logoff Delay in Minutes field. When activated, Sage 100 ERP will have the user log off automatically after the system has not been used for the number of minutes defined. The timing starts only when the user is not in any tasks and is only on the Launcher screen.
  • Implied Decimal Point: Select this check box to use an implied decimal point when entering numeric values. The system adds the decimal point automatically when you enter numeric values (for example, 123 = 1.23). Clear this check box if you do not want to use an implied decimal point (for example, 123 = 123.00).
  • Low Speed Connection: Available only with Sage 100 Advanced ERP, this option is used when the user connects through a low-speed connection such as a dial-up connection or a VPN.
  • Lookup Limit for Initial Display: This setting is used when there is a very large number of records in a Masterfile, and Lookups are creating system performance issues. By entering a limit in this field (for example, 5000), the system will first calculate the number of records in the Masterfile. If fewer records than the limit exist, then all records will display. If the number of records exceeds the limit, then NO records will display. This function allows the user to enter search criteria quickly without waiting for the display grid to populate.
  • [ENTER] Key Like [TAB] Key for Grid: If this box is checked, the ENTER key and the TAB key will perform in the same way – moving the cursor from one field to the next in the grid. If the box is not checked, pressing the Enter key will advance to the next line in the grid, just as it would in an Excel spreadsheet. By default, this box is checked.
  • Display Reduction Amounts in Red: Any amounts that reduce a balance will be displayed in red if this box is checked. The default setting is for the box to be checked.
  • Enable Web Services: Select this box to enable eBusiness Web Services for the selected user. Clear the box if the user is not permitted access to eBusiness Web Services. If selected, and the role for the user has the appropriate security setup in Role Maintenance, data requested from an external system that uses eBusiness Web Services can be modified by the user.
  • User Graphic Report Format: This option applies only to the Job Cost, Payroll, MRP, Time Card, and Work Order modules. If selected, reports for this user will be in character mode (think dot matrix printer)┬árather than graphical.
  • Partial Lookup Default: There are two options here to be used when the user enters lead characters into a Lookup field and presses F2 (or the Magnifying Glass button). The default option is “Begins with”, and will display only those records that begin with the characters entered in the Lookup field. The other option is “Greater than”, and will display all records that begin with or are greater than the characters entered.
  • Prompt for Company Code: Select this option to prompt the user to enter a company code when logging into Sage 100 ERP. If not selected, the user will always default to the company code that was open when the user last exited the program.
  • Default Report Preview Zoom: This is my favorite of the user preferences! The default setting when previewing a report in Sage 100 ERP is 100%, at which most “out of the box” reports in the program are too small to be easily read. Setting this default to 125% or 150% will make previewing reports much more convenient for the user.
  • Enable C/S ODBC Driver: Available only in Sage 100 Advanced ERP, and only if the Enable C/S ODBC Driver check box is selected and the Enable for All Users box is cleared in the System Configuration window. When selected, the user will employ the ODBC Driver from the server rather than from his/her workstation. This option is used when significant delays are experienced when printing across networks in Sage 100 Advanced ERP.
  • Spawn Tasks from Application Server: Available only in Sage 100 Advanced ERP, selecting this box will launch tasks directly through the Application Server, providing a stable connection between the Sage 100 Advanced ERP server and workstation. By default, this box is cleared, bypassing the Application Server when launching tasks, which allows for faster processing.

You now know everything you need to know to optimize each user’s Sage 100 ERP experience.

About these ads
This entry was posted in Sage Software and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s